top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYadi Martínez-Reyna

Grace


Scripture Now God did not subject the coming world, about which we are speaking, to angels. But we do see Jesus, who for a little while was made lower than the angels, now crowned with glory and honor because of the suffering of death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. Hebrews 2:5 and 9.

A Word of Hope When I was younger I served in a team of missionaries that would go to Matamoros Tamaulipas and surrounding are preaching the gospel and baptizing in the name of Jesus. For the children and younger audience I will do puppet shows and afterwards make the call for salvation. This call was to all people to either come forward to accept the gift of grace and salvation or perish eternal damnation in hell. To me it was like an insurance policy. It is important to have insurance because you never know when you will need coverage. Salvation was needed immediately to my audience so in case they died they would not burn in hell forever.

As I grew in my faith and my theological understanding broadened, I realized that salvation was not something one needed to check off from a to-do list. Salvation and grace was a gift given without us deserving or doing nothing to obtain it.

On other occasions I remember when I was young going to revival youth conferences. On some occasions we would watch the Left Behind series, or movies that the Youth Pastor would have about hell, suffering, and condemnation. I remember the call to salvation was quickly rushed by youth in masses because they did not want to suffer. After a few months I will wonder where all the youth were because they have stopped coming to church

Hebrews 2:5-9 says that God, did not subject this world to angels but instead Jesus whose suffering and death for us has granted us grace. I though about the experiences I had growing up and vowed not to approach salvation and grace as a cheep insurance or something I had to sell to young people based in fear. I learned that when I explained to them that Christ became flesh it meant he was a mortal man like each one of us. Jesus did not become like Hercules, half man and half God. Christ was tired and had to take a boat to rest even after the crowds were asking for him. Christ, experienced fear, anger, betrayal and pain just as we do. Christ chose the whole mortal experience in order to relate to each of us in the experience of death.

As believers of Christ we often feel that we fall short of grace and his loving mercy. God knows you because God has searched you; weakness, pride, and every feeling one has inside. Even though God knows all our faults, the unconditional love is there.

Christ, was crowned, and has taken our place so there is no need to carry guilt, shame, fear or the burden of not being good enough. For my friends have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the creator of the ends of the earth. God does not falter or grow weary; God’s understanding is unsearchable. -Isaiah 40:28. Fix your eyes on Jesus and let God’s grace be your strength. If you need to rest or seek forgiveness turn it all over to Christ and let it go. We are covered by Christ’s Grace. Hope in him again and rise every day knowing you are love and that there is NOTHING you can do that can separates you from that love.

Prayer Dear God, may we accept the gift of grace through Christ. May we bask in your grace as you unveil our eyes and free our hearts from fear, shame and guilt to gratefully receive the gift of Life.

Amen.


1 view

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page