top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYadi Martinez-Reyna

Learning to live with Diabetes


Scripture “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” - Philippians 4:6-7 New International Version (NIV)

A Word of Hope

Two years ago I met a young pre teen with amazing energy and a positive outlook of life. She carried a small backpack with her everywhere she went. Even when we would go swimming this young lady would keep her backpack near her at all times.

I noticed that after some meals she would run to an area away from the other teens and do something with her back pack. I was curious as to whether she was feeling ill or she was recording what she was eating (some teens count their carb intake). This pre teen, about 11 years of age, suffered from Type 1 diabetes. This preteen would check her sugar, write it down in a small notebook, and then quickly give herself an insulin shot before anyone would notice. I asked my young friend once about her diabetes and about how long she had been dealing with this condition.


My young friend informed me that she had been diabetic all her life because God had made her extra sweet. She lived all her life with diabetes and the process of caring for herself seemed second nature.

About six months ago I was diagnosed with diabetes. I blamed my fainting spells and lack of energy on my bad habits. When I was diagnosed I thought about my young friend and automatically dismissed it as not being a big deal. I thought, “If she can do it at 11, so can I.” I was wrong; it was not easy. It has taken a change of eating habits, a medication regimen, and an honest look at my daily life. I learned quickly that if I missed a meal or a snack I would suffer severe consequences. I had found myself many times desperately reaching for my glucose tablets because I was so excited and involved in my activities that I missed my snack or a meal.

Philippians 4:6-7 reminds us not to be anxious for anything. But I can't help but wonder how many of us have had medical challenges in our lives and we can't help but feel that anxiety? I have learned to live at peace with my diagnosis and have embraced my new lifestyle. I have allowed God’s love and peace to surround me and have shared my struggles with fellow friends and staff members. My friends and colleagues help me by providing alternative snacks and meals when we get together. Even my younger friends are learning with me about eating habits and exercise. They are learning that sometimes life might throw a few challenges our way but we must learn to embrace change and accept support and love from others. Your challenge might not be diabetes and you might be very healthy. Perhaps your challenge is letting go of an unhealthy habit, a relationship or embracing a new way of living. Whatever your challenge might be I invite you to remember that God’s love and grace will see you through and support is not far away.

Prayer God, please let your peace that transcends all understanding be with us today and always.

Amen



1 view
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page