top of page
Search
Writer's pictureYadi Martinez-Reyna

Christmas


Scripture

For us a child is born, to us a son is given; and his name shall be called wonderful counselor, mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

A Word of Hope

The Christmas Season is one of my favorite holiday times, and remember, we are still in it. According to the Liturgical Calendar, Christmas lasts for 12 Days. Even in the darkest of times I have always enjoyed Christmastime. The lovely lights, decorations, festivities and the reminder of the child that was born to bring us Peace.

The Christmas Season is not always a fun and happy holiday for many who have lost loved ones, or are going through a difficult time in their lives. It can be a reminder of the loneliness, or lack of family acceptance to some. About 10 years ago I found myself in a very depressing situation. For the first time I was without a job, penniless and hopeless. A friend of mine donated a tree to me and my son. She then took us shopping at the dollar store and bought toys for my son. My friend wrapped the gifts and placed them all around the tree. I learned that year what it meant to have a family of choice and to be thankful for a roof over my head and good friends.

As I meet with some of my young friends in the streets today I can’t help but remember when I was in that position. Some of our youth might not have a home to hang a stocking or a tree to decorate. But we have opened our doors to young people from all walks of life and offered them a safe, brave space. We have provided meals and fellowship so they can experience what a family of choice means. I share with them that Cathedral of Hope and its amazing congregation work diligently to provide coats, gloves, blankets and food at a holiday Saturday event held yearly

As I speak to those who have lost a loved one I can’t help but acknowledge that even after many years, missing them is a part of the holidays and we embrace the memories. I can offer support for those who have started a new adventure or ended a relationship because it does get better.

I remind myself and all of us that we have a wonderful counselor, a mighty God and a prince of peace that comforts us. We hold on to our fond memories and create new ones together. May this holiday season be a reminder that a child is born to bring us Peace, Comfort, Love and Hope.


2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page