top of page
Search
Writer's pictureYadi Martinez-Reyna

Back to school talk


Scripture “…for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” 2 Timothy 1:7 English Standard Version (ESV)

A Word of Hope

We are about a month into the new school year already! What an exciting time for some and what a frightening thing for others.

A week before school started I found myself shopping with some of our teens for back to school. We were out in the store buying school supplies that we did not collect in our drive but where needed; buying uniforms and other necessary items. But there were a few things in the store that I could not buy. For example, I wish I could buy confidence and self esteem! I would have purchased it in bulk and pass it along to everyone.

Every school year I team up with a congregant here and there to host a back to school pool party. Among splashes and laughter we talk about the upcoming school year. We address the fear of walking into a new school or starting a new adventure. We talk about the fear of being bullied either by name calling or actual physical violence. So we embrace our young friends and remind them that we are on the sidelines waiting for them to reach out and help them through the maze and the fear of the unknown.

The reading from 2 Timothy reminds us that God has given us gifts to help us through, not a spirit of fear but of self control, and power to overcome. So we equip our young friends with confidence by reminding them that they are love and that we believe in them. We encourage them to have self esteem by reminding them how important and valuable they are.

I speak of my young friends but I am also aware that as adults we face the same fears and challenges. We fear the unknown, the start of a new job, a career, or a new phase in our lives. Just like our young friends I encourage you to surround yourself with people making a positive impact in your life. Surround yourself by those who remind you how valuable, loved and amazing you are.

Prayer May you be reminded of Gods unconditional love, and may his grace surround you and empower you.


2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page