top of page
Search
Writer's pictureYadi Martinez-Reyna

The Process


Scripture “So I went to the potter’s house, and sure enough, the potter was there, working away at his wheel. Whenever the pot the potter was working on turned out badly, as sometimes happens when you are working with clay, the potter would simply start over and use the same clay to make another pot.” Jeremiah 18:3-4

A Word of Hope

I remember the first time in art school I sat in front of a potter’s wheel, excited to be learning a new form of art. I quickly learned that unlike the movies this was not a simple thing to do. One hand had to learn to move the clay slowly while my foot pressed the pedal to move the wheel. If my foot pressed the pedal too hard or fast the clay would go all over the place. If I went too slowly the clay would fall apart in my hands. When I read the verse in Jeremiah I could not help but think about my days in art school but also of my life as a youth minister. In an age in which everything around us is instant it is often difficult to learn to practice patience.

In my own personal life I have often said: ”God can you please hurry the process up?” I picture myself as clay and in the potter’s hand saying how much longer? Or perhaps saying to my creator and maker can you make me stronger, tougher, indestructible or with superpowers?

As an artist working with clay there is always the fear that, when it gets to the fire process, the art piece might break. The clay could have a rock, a hair, or a pocket of air and, when in the kiln, the piece might crack or worse shatter! But there is also the beauty of seeing the clay change colors, and through the fire see its beauty shining through. How often do we go through the test of life? How often do I work with youth or students fearing that the circumstance in their lives might be too much - that they could break? Will I break? Will the circumstances and things in our lives break us or make us stronger with the beauty of Gods grace shining through us?

As an artist I must trust that the piece will be ready for the fire. As a youth minister I must be ready to help a student rebuild, or pick up the pieces when they do break, and sometimes that means reaching out to a teacher or mentor for additional assistance. As a potter it takes time to craft, create, and see my creation pass through the test of time. As a youth minister it takes prayer and the belief that God will see each student through the challenges of life. Both the artist and the youth minister require patience and the passion to know the beauty of starting again and learning to trust that God will see it through.

Prayer God, may we see the beauty of being in your hands as clay in the potter wheel. May we trust that you will create, refine and see us through the fire.

Amen.


0 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page