top of page
Search
Writer's pictureYadi Martinez-Reyna

Today is Cinco de Mayo!


Scripture ​

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.) Micah 6:8

A Word of Hope

What is Cinco de Mayo? Many have confused Cinco de Mayo with the Independence of Mexico. That celebration is actually on September 16. Cinco de Mayo is the celebration of a victory over France at the Battle of Puebla in 1862.

Today, some will enjoy a traditional beverage and authentic Mexican food in a patio somewhere. Others will participate in activities that represent our Mexican culture and heritage such as parades, mariachi music performances and street festivals. The celebration became popular here in the ‘60s when Chicano activists (Mexican-Americans) raised awareness in the United States regarding the Battle of Puebla because it was a reminder of the victory of indigenous Mexicans over Europe.

I am of Mexican heritage. I was born and raised in the United States with Spanish being my primary language. What I did not understand growing up was what it meant to be a struggling individual. I was born in the United States across the border surrounded by my family. I did not know how difficult it could be to be Chicano until I moved to the Dallas area. I did not have an accent but I quickly found out how easy it was to be laughed at or embarrassed for my writing or for using the wrong words. I would see how housekeepers, food servers, and others were treated in public places. My Latino brothers and sisters would be ridiculed because they could not insinuate the words right or would be too timid and humble to stand up for themselves. I worked seven years at a shopping center where I would meet housekeeping and facilities personal after work to help review and translate their children’s school or legal documents. I learned how easy it was to fool a person into fear or intimidation for lack of education, or legal status. Here in the United States we are surrounded by my Latino brothers and sisters who would rather lose wages, not report a crime and endure abuse for fear of discovery and deportation.

MIchah 6:8 says to do justice, love mercy and walk humbly with our God. May this Cinco de Mayo be a reminder of my Latino friends and family who are free and those who are still seeking freedom. May we remember to do justice, and stand up when our brothers and sisters are discriminated against or humiliated. May we walk humbly with our God, and keep in mind that many of us have lost or left our families behind. Catedral de la Esperanza is a beacon of hope for many of us who need that connection with our culture and heritage. I love the fact that the Catedral de la Esperanza incorporates multicultural events, and parties that represent food from different Latino cultures and countries. Every December during the “Guadalupe” celebration I beam with joy to see the Latino culture represented, from the “Cocheros” (Aztec dancers), to the folkorico dancers, and the Mariachis playing in our native Spanish language. I love our food, our beverages named after the beautiful Margaita flower, and remember our people on this special day with love, mercy and compassion.

Prayer May God continue to guide us and may God’s grace be with our Latino brothers and sisters as we celebrate their culture and heritage on this Cinco de Mayo.


2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page